20 years

1992-2012, 20 years of nail clippings. 17-06-12

One of the most significant things I’m getting rid of before I move is my 20 years worth of nail clippings – finger and toe. I started collecting them when I was on holiday in Paris in 1992 and I’ve assiduously saved them ever since. Even when I’ve been away from home, when I cut my nails, all the clippings were put in an envelope and on my return added to the coffee jar where all the other ones were saved. Yes, I think we can agree this was OCD behaviour – and I didn’t even know why I was doing it. But I always knew they would have a purpose one day. Thus with the new moon in Gemini I set 20 years worth of clippings free in to the Thames from Waterloo Bridge in central London today – another part of the process of letting go.

1992-2012, 20 years of nail clippings. 17-06-12

1992-2012, 20 years of nail clippings. 17-06-12

This entry was posted in The passing of time. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 years

  1. Mrs B says:

    And 5 minutes later, a group of enthusiastic swimmers choked on what they assumed were miniature fish bones…..
    I can’t believe you still had that bloody jar!
    It’s best! ;-/

  2. Hi,
    You don’t know me, but I may owe you an apology. See, I found your image of that beautiful jar of toenails (the good one in the white photo-box) and in an act of negligence decided to use it without permission.

    http://www.scp-wiki.net/scp-1297 is the address where you can find the content. I have used this image to represent the object referenced in the document on this page. I’ve added an image attribution to the comments for the article, and should you request it, the image will be taken down immediately.

    Please contact me regarding your decision as soon as possible. I’m sorry not to have contacted you sooner.

    -GT

Leave a Reply

